Health and Disability

Dealing with setbacks

So… aquaplaning my car and slamming it into the kerb resulting in a day spent in A&E alongside the stress and annoyance of dealing with insurance companies and garages was not how I planned on starting my holidays!!

I wanted to have a fantastic relaxing week, taking advantage of my newfound pain relief and doing some things for myself. A bit of selfish me time! I’d booked acupuncture, a spa day and a couple of other things but the majority of the time was to be spent doing nice things for myself, trips to the cinema, lunches out and time spent reading in the sunshine, and what happens? I damage my car and my body!!

I’m so annoyed with myself! I keep thinking of if been driving better or slower or faster or left earlier or later then it wouldn’t have haappened! But life doesn’t work like that. So the reality is I’ve damaged a car I was getting rid of soon, will have to use some money I’d started saving, and spent the last 3 days in lots of pain 😤😔

I’m trying to find the silver lining, and here it is! I actually have rested a bit because I’ve had to. I’ve let someone look after me, which I never do as I hate it. I feel so guilty that I need help, but my sister and my brother in law have been fab, letting me and my cat stay in their house, cooking for me and generally looking after me while I try and rest my battered body.

Another silver lining is getting to spend time with my nephew. 3 whole days so far! He’s an absolute delight, so funny, cheeky, entertaining, loving and kind. He’s shared his food with me, given me cuddles, I’ve watched him playing and running around the garden and watched TV with him and taught him to play his first video game. I’m really glad that I got to spend this time with him.

I was reminding myself of the important things in my life last week when I had another nephew to stay with me. We’d got up, were playing games and chatting before going out for breakfast and I started tidying up the bed he’d slept in and putting everything away. I realised half way through that I should be doing that when he’d gone home as I only had a limited amount of time with him, and what would I rather be doing? Cleaning up or playing and talking? No brainer!! I stopped my obsessive tidying and went and spent more time with him.

I treasure the time with my family and friends. I was also reminded of this when I was asked to do a dream board for my new job, to make sure I always remembered why I was doing it. I had pictures of my family, friends and all of the people I love as this is what’s important to me, spending time with them and being there for them. I also want a nice house, a yellow Prius and some minion converse, but mainly time with my friends and family!

I love my life, I just get frustrated with my body, it’s so annoying having to cancel and rearrange things, to have setbacks that aren’t in your control, to have to change your vision and plans for your life because your body just isn’t up to it. I watched a TV programme tonight where the characters go salsa dancing, this makes me so sad because I loved dancing. I have no idea if I’ll ever be able to do it again, so I have to constantly remind myself of the things I can do, and the amazing people I have around me.

I have an amazing life.

Leave a Reply

