Reviews

Deadpool Review

I’ve got a page for reviews and my plan was to post book, film, theatre and restaurant reviews regularly which I haven’t done 😬 but I’ve made a new commitment to myself this week to get more info out to you lovely followers and I’ve decided to get back to my reviews, so that if you can go out you have an idea of where to go and what to watch, and if you can’t you can, hopefully read a good book, avoid a bad one, or watch a film at home (if your condition lets you! I know I have days when I can’t read and I struggle to follow films at all!)

I can’t figure out how to post this as a blog onto the review page, but hopefully one of my techie friends will help me with this ☺️

Β So my first review is of Deadpool, I know this isn’t very timely, but if you can still catch it then it’s worth a watch. I am a big fan of Ryan Reynolds, not just for the obvious reasons, but also because he’s a good actor, (give Safe House a watch, absolutely brilliant action film with him and Denzel Washington) I also love Marvel and superhero films in general so figured I’d love this one!

I went on opening day and the cinema was a bit busy which I don’t like as I usually go after work about 4.30, or during the day if I’m off work so it’s not very busy. I like having the cinema to myself, but was surrounded by lots of people. I stopped being a miserable cow and settled in and started to relax. The cinema is one of the places where I totally switch off and actually relax so this is an important part of my week, I always treat myself to a decaf coffee with sugar free caramel syrup, and just love the experience.

I really don’t know what I was expecting, but it wasn’t what I got. I think I was expecting a comedic x-men type film, and was shocked by the credits as they set the tone for the film. The opening scene was violent with the stylised slow motion editing and visuals that reminded me of spin city, which I didn’t enjoy, but I felt myself being drawn in as the film started and we are taken back in time to the beginning of the story (I do like films that jump around in time and have a cyclical storyline). The dropping of the fourth wall as Deadpool talks to us the audience is always an interesting tactic which I found jarring in this film, but it does help you to build some degree of empathy with the main character as he speaks directly to you telling his side of the story. It didn’t fully engage me with him, and through the course of the film I found I wasn’t really bothered about him which doesn’t bode well!

I enjoyed the marvel in jokes, and especially liked it when Deadpool referenced Ryan Reynolds during one scene about people having success due to their looks, I didn’t like the crudity and language on occasion, and the violence was a bit too gory for me. I was expecting to see some more Marvel characters during the film, but the two X-Men who were in the film were not used brilliantly, and the bad guy was just a little boring for me. The premise that he feels no pain doesn’t add danger to the storyline, as nothing can hurt him, so why bother fighting him? You’re not going to intimidate a person who feels no pain…I didn’t like him and he wasn’t evil enough, to me he seemed as if he was being forced to do things on occasion and it wasn’t very menacing. I like a bad guy to be truly menacing and scary.

I enjoyed the film, I think that it’s a great concept, but it’s just not a film that I’d rave about or watch over and over again, unfortunately it’s just a bit too niche for me.

Vic gives it 2 sticks πŸŽ‹πŸŽ‹

(there are no disabled emoji’s apart from ♿️ which I don’t like, and no sticks or spoons πŸ’€ was my second choice πŸ˜‚)

Vic xx

Leave a Reply

