Health and Disability

To Sleep or Not to Sleep, that is the question?

BedroomHiya,

How did everyone sleep last night?

If it was anything like me, then not great! I’ve been pretty bad recently about managing my sleep hygiene and I know a couple of people who would not be happy with me! I am not very happy with myself, but I do have reasons…here they are:

I’ve still been feeling pretty bad with a cold and only managed to go to work and get home, get something to eat and get to bed. I like watching TV for a bit after work, and it’s part of my downtime and evening routine, so going to bed between 6.30 and 7.30 wasn’t giving me any time to decompress after work. This led to me taking my Ipad to bed and watching TV shows and films in bed. This is not usually part of my sleep routine so I was already starting off on the wrong foot!

The fact that I’ve got a month’s free subscription to Amazon Prime meant that I wanted to watch the things I’ve saved within this time frame so that I don’t miss them as I’m not going to pay for it after the free trial period has finished. The fact that Grimm and Transparent have had me gripped also leads to another problem that I have not just stopped at 1 or 2 episodes, I’ve been watching loads and not getting to sleep until the early hours of the morning on occasion which is very bad!!

The next problem with my sleep recently has been that I’ve been in loads of pain, so getting comfortable enough to drift off has been very difficult, and it’s also restricted me from moving in my sleep as I’ve been going into a very deep sleep for longer than usual and my joints and muscles have just been seizing up during the day if I stay still for too long, so I can only imagine that the same thing is happening at night as I’m waking up in exactly the same position that I’ve gone to sleep in which I never usually do.

Fourth problem is that I haven’t been doing my meditation exercises and my brain has been in overload with everything that has been going on for the last few weeks so I’ve been mulling things over, stressing and overthinking things instead of relaxing and getting straight to sleep.

On the couple of night’s this week that I’ve done something I’ve also stayed out too late, so I’ve been exhausted by the time I got home, haven’t done any jobs, so have been emptying the washing machine, sorting food deliveries and doing general household jobs when I’ve got in that has added to the time before I’ve been getting into bed! That’s number 5!

I love having a wrist band that tracks my sleep as I can see how many hours I’m spending in bed, as well as how many hours of deep sleep that I am getting every night, and how that relates to how I am feeling. There are a couple of problems with it as it doesn’t seem to be able to distinguish between me being in bed reading and sleeping, so I’ve got to take that info with a pinch of salt, but I do find tracking my sleep to be beneficial, and it makes me feel as if I’m being proactive in supporting myself.

To get my top tips on Sleep Hygiene then add your email address to the follow this blog section, or message me on FB, Twitter, Pintrest, Instagram or Linkedin and I’ll send it through to you along with a sleep tracker worksheet to help you to monitor your own sleep and see if the tips help 🙂

Thanks

Vic xx

Leave a Reply

